FHTWO: Secrets for a long life..long Boring life

10685582_10152400950428581_4060553531167073965_n

FHTWO: Saw this post and while the advice is obviously sound, I have always read that the trip is about the journey and not the destination. If you want to live to 99 like Ida, I agree that you should eat nutritious food and exercise each day. And regardless of your lifestyle you should do what you need to do. That is being responsible and God knows there is not a lot of that running around.

Where I have trouble even reading it to myself is the either or clauses. Eat for nutrition and NOT for TASTE. What are you crazy? Imagine oatmeal over and over again. I like oatmeal but I would not choose it for taste. Give me some eggs and bacon and a golden biscuit with lots of real butter and strawberry jam. Now I know I just cut a few years off with that diet.

Now the other either or statement. Do what you need to do, NOT what you want to do. Carpe Diem. Enjoy today. Run through that mud puddle. Frolic in the leaves. Did I just say frolic? OK you get the point. Those things you do for enjoyment can reduce stress and increase happiness. Visit with friends and family. Tell old jokes and remember old times. See a great movie, see an average movie. All of these things make the journey more pleasurable and if the journey does end suddenly, what a trip you had.

In blade runner, at the end of the movie, a replicant with only a four year life span reflected upon his near death about things he had seen that most people do not get to see.

I’ve seen things you people wouldn’t believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I’ve watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those … moments will be lost in time, like tears…in rain. Time to die.

So in his death he realized that life is precious not because of how long you live but what you have done and seen and experienced on your journey.

Leave a Reply

